Billy’s Five Picks To Win The 2023 WrestleZone (@WrestleZone) Regal Rumble

The road to Aberdeen Anarchy begins properly on March 25th, and although that is about a month away, and no one has been confirmed for the match itself, that won’t stop me giving out my five picks to win the Regal Rumble and main event Aberdeen Anarchy 2023.

Some Regal Rumble facts:

  • This marks the 12th edition of the Regal Rumble match, with 10 different winners.
  • 9 of the 10 winners would become Undisputed WrestleZone Champion.
  • Bingo Ballance won the first edition in 2010.
  • Crusher Craib is the only wrestler to win back to back Regal Rumble matches in 2012 and 2013.
  • Crusher Craib is also the only wrestler to win 3 Regal Rumble matches with an additional win in 2016.
  • 2013 marked the first time the Regal Rumble winner gained an Undisputed WrestleZone Championship match at Aberdeen Anarchy.
  • Since 2013, only 4 Regal Rumble winners did not win the Undisputed WrestleZone Championship at Aberdeen Anarchy.
  • 2016 was the first time the Undisputed WrestleZone Champion retained at Aberdeen Anarchy against the Regal Rumble winner when Scotty Swift defeated Crusher Craib.
  • 2022 was the first time there were co-winners with Zach Dynamite and Aspen Faith winning the match.

Not to brag but I’ve had a pretty good track record over the last few years, I mean, it’s not that difficult when you have a 1 in 4 chance of being right eh?

For once this list won’t have Aspen Faith, last year’s co-winner, who won the Undisputed WrestleZone Championship back in December at Christmas Chaos from the other co-winner Zach Dynamite.

Photo Credit Brian Battensby
Umar Mohammed

The Asian Sensation currently has his hands full with Rhys Dawkins and Bryan Tucker following the banishment of Scotty Swift at Christmas Chaos but there is plenty of time to gain revenge between now and Anarchy. Since making his return to WrestleZone, and making it his home, TV’s Umar Mohammed has been a huge fan favourite in the North East.

Mohammed has had an Undisputed WrestleZone Championship opportunity recently, running the then-champion Zach Dynamite to the limit before finally having to submit. Umar has had a fire lit under him since Christmas Chaos, showing more aggression, and more willing to take risks which can be fortuitous in this kind of match up, but can also be a drawback if his heart takes over his brain if there’s any lingering revenge in mind against Dawkins and Tucker which may leave him distracted and finding himself going over the top rope.

He’ll have to float like a Cadillac, sting like a Beemer if he has any chance of leaving with his hand raised.

Photo Credit Brian Battensby
Connor Molloy

As it’s been mentioned regularly, since the retirement of his tag team partner Crusher Craib, Connor Molloy has been a little directionless, stuck in limbo, putting on fantastic matches but there doesn’t seem to be an end game for him. Molloy does special things in the Regal Rumble, his first appearance saw him eliminate Crusher Craib to the shock of everyone.

Molloy’s usual high flying game won’t be the most helpful in this kind of match but his speed and agility will be the advantage he’ll hold against many a prospective entrant to the match. One of the fastest competitors in WrestleZone, I would suggest Connor rents Dodgeball (because he probably hasn’t seen it) and learn the 5 D’s which could be his key to victory.

Photo Credit Brian Battensby
Zach Dynamite

Last year’s co-winner of the Regal Rumble match is the current WrestleZone Tri-Counties Champion, the prospect of a Champion vs Champion main event hasn’t happened at Aberdeen Anarchy since 2011 when Scotty Swift and Damien defended the WrestleZone Heavyweight and No Limits Championships respectively to form the Undisputed WrestleZone Championship.

A win for Dynamite would also have him as only the second man to win multiple Regal Rumbles, and the second to win two in a row after Crusher Craib achieved both feats. The Aberdonian Ace had the numbers game in 2022, The Foundation of the Future may’ve had a rough night in December that saw them lose all their gold but they are still an imposing faction.

I could’ve put either Ryan Riley or Bruiser Brad Evans in this spot as either could conceivably find themselves the last one standing when it’s all said and done. It still sticks in Dynamite’s craw that he was the “co-winner” last year so will be out to correct that in 2023.

Photo Credit Brian Battensby
Ronan King

Talking about history, if Ronan King managed to outlast the other competitors he would be the youngest winner of the Regal Rumble and youngest wrestler to compete in the main event of Aberdeen Anarchy (according to my brief research).

His Rumble debut in 2022 wasn’t the best, eliminating himself to escape a Singapore Cane wielding Mikkey Vago so his past performances in rumbles aren’t on his side.

But the year since has seen Ronan put on showcase after showcase, having a tremendous rivalry with Mikkey Vago, putting an incredible shift in against Grado, coming within a whisker of becoming WrestleZone Tri-Counties Champion, King has been the talking point coming out of any WrestleZone show due to his antics, fashion choices, or his actual athleticism.

After their confrontation at Station Hotel Showdown, it looks like King has a future date with Damien on the horizon but an opportunity to become Undisputed WrestleZone Champion will surely be on this forefront of his mind.

Photo Credit WrestleZone
Caleb Valhalla

The Mighty Caleb is my first pick, my odds on favourite to win the Regal Rumble. After a cursed year trying to gain a measure of revenge on Captain Alan Sterling, I’m hoping he finally puts it to bed at the Regal Rumble event itself before marching into the over the top rope main event and throwing body after body after body out of the ring.

Valhalla’s Regal Rumble debut in 2019 created a last memory when he murdered Lord Mr Malice, yet somehow the ghost of Lord Mr Malice returned in 2022 to eliminate the Viking (thanks to the assistance of Captain Alan).

Caleb is yet to lift gold in WrestleZone, if he can finally rid himself of Captain Alan Sterling’s shenanigans, who could stop the him from stamping his name in the main event of Aberdeen Anarchy for one of his biggest battles on Midgard? SKOL! SKOL! SKOL!

Tickets are available now, who will add their name to the legacy of the Regal Rumble?

Past Winners
2010Bingo Ballance
2011Bryan Tucker
2012Crusher Craib
2013Crusher Craib
2014Jack Jester
2015Scotty Swift
2016Crusher Craib
2017Shawn Johnson
2018Richard R. Russell
2019RUDO Lightning
2022Aspen Faith & Zach Dynamite

Share Your Voice

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.